clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Taysom Hill named to 2014 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List

Hill looks to join notable BYU quarterbacks as recipients of the prestigious award.

Gene Sweeney Jr.

BYU Cougars quarterback Taysom Hill was named to the 2014 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award watch list along with 38 other quarterbacks.

"The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O’Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics," according to the Davey O’Brien Foundation page.

Jameis Winston of Florida State won the award last year and was named to the list again this year, looking to be the fourth quarterback to win the Davey O’Brien award two times.

Former BYU quarterback Ty Detmer is one of three quarterbacks to have won the award twice. Jim McMahon was the inaugural winner of the prestigious award back in 1981, and Steve Young won in 1983.

Other notable winners include Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M, 2012), Robert Griffin III (Baylor, 2011), and Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997).

Of note, all 125 NCAA Division I FBS school quarterbacks are still eligible for the award until the 16 semifinalists are announced on November 3, 2014.

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award will be announced on December 11, 2014. To see the full 2014 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List, click here.