clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

BYU Basketball releases full schedule for 2016-17 season

As expected, non-conference schedule will be highlighted by games with USC, Colorado and (possibly) Illinois.

Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports

While football season might be just around the bend, that doesn't mean it's too early for some basketball news.

Earlier today BYU announced then entirety of their men's basketball schedule, finalizing BYU's non-conference slate, which looks to be average compared to previous years.

The key match-ups for the Cougars will be against USC (a NCAA tournament team from last year) on December 3rd at the Staples Center and  a home game against Colorado on December 10th. Beyond that there are no marquee games that can help BYU strengthen their potential tournament resume.

In addition to finalizing the non-conference game there are some slight changes in the travel arrangements in the West Coast Conference schedule.

Instead of  using the traditional travel pairings for road basketball games, the WCC split up the Thursday / Saturday games across the conference. So instead of BYU traveling to Pepperdine and LMU (both located within 25 miles of each other) in the same week, the Cougars will split their visits to Los Angeles across separate trips.

The season will officially start on November 11th in Provo when the Cougars will face off against BYU-Hawaii. The full schedule can be found below.

2016-17 BYU Basketball Schedule
Date Day Opponent Location
Oct. 26 Wednesday Cougar Tipoff Provo, Utah
Oct. 29 Saturday Seattle Pacific Provo, Utah
Nov. 3 Thursday Westminster Provo, Utah
Nov. 11 Friday BYU-Hawaii Provo, Utah
Nov. 17 Thursday Coppin State Provo, Utah
Nov. 19 Saturday Coastal Carolina Provo, Utah
Nov. 21 Monday vs. Saint Louis* Las Vegas
Nov. 23 Wednesday vs. Alabama/Valparaiso* Las Vegas
Nov. 26 Saturday UVU Provo, Utah
Nov. 30 Wednesday vs. Utah State# Salt Lake City
Dec. 3 Saturday vs. USC^ Los Angeles
Dec. 7 Wednesday Weber State Provo, Utah
Dec. 10 Saturday Colorado Provo, Utah
Dec. 17 Saturday vs. Illinois~ Chicago
Dec. 20 Tuesday Idaho State Provo, Utah
Dec. 22 Thursday Cal-State Bakersfield Provo, Utah
Dec. 29 Thursday Santa Clara Provo, Utah
Dec. 31 Saturday at Loyola Marymount Los Angeles
Jan. 5 Thursday at Saint Mary's Moraga, California
Jan. 7 Saturday Pacific Provo, Utah
Jan. 12 Thursday San Francisco Provo, Utah
Jan. 14 Saturday at San Diego San Diego
Jan. 19 Thursday Pepperdine Provo, Utah
Jan. 21 Saturday at Pacific Stockton, California
Jan. 26 Thursday at Santa Clara Santa Clara, California
Jan. 28 Saturday Loyola Marymount Provo, Utah
Feb. 2 Thursday Gonzaga Provo, Utah
Feb. 4 Saturday Portland Provo, Utah
Feb. 9 Thursday at Pepperdine Malibu, California
Feb. 11 Saturday at San Francisco San Francisco, California
Feb. 16 Thursday San Diego Provo, Utah
Feb. 18 Saturday Saint Mary's Provo, Utah
Feb. 23 Thursday at Portland Portland, Oregon
Feb. 25 Saturday at Gonzaga Spokane, Washington