clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

BYU football announces TV broadcast times for games vs Utah, Tennessee, USC and Idaho State

Games in the afternoon!

NCAA Football: Brigham Young at Utah Jeff Swinger-USA TODAY Sports

Cougar fans can start confirming their travel plans for a few of the 2019 football matchups as BYU announced broadcast plans for four games this fall. The first three games of the season, against Utah, Tennessee and USC, will be broadcast on one of the primary ESPN networks. Full details on all of the announced games are listed below.

Utah at BYU // Thur. Aug. 29 // 10:15pm ET (8:15pm MT) // ESPN

BYU at Tennessee // Sat. Sept. 7 // 7pm ET (5pm MT) // ESPN

USC at BYU // Sat. Sept. 14 // 3:30pm ET (1:30pm MT) // ABC, ESPN, or ESPN2

Idaho State at BYU // Sat. Nov. 16 // 3pm ET (1pm MT) // BYUtv

The Cougars will kick off the college football season with a Thursday matchup against Utah in what will likely be the back half of a double-header for ESPN. The 10:15 ET / 8:15 MT start time will be tough for the fans on the East Coast and even for those in attendance that have to rally for work or school the following morning.

The best news to come from this announcement is a 7 ET / 5 MT start for the Tennessee game. In the last few seasons BYU has struggled mightily when traveling east of the Mississippi, in part due to early start times. With the game kicking off at 5 MT the team should be fully awake to take on the Vols.

Fans that enjoy games in the afternoons will be happy to see that the USC and Idaho State games will have start times at 1:00 and 1:30 MT respectively. The USC game will either be broadcast on ABC, ESPN or ESPN 2, while the Idaho State game will be available on BYUtv.