clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

BYU basketball's Kyle Collinsworth, Lexi Rydalch named WCC Players of the Year

The best player in the West Coast Conference in the 2015-16 season is Kyle Collinsworth. Chase Fischer joins KC on the 1st team All-Conference. Nick Emery named 2nd team All-Conference.

Chris Nicoll-USA TODAY Sports

The West Coast Conference announced the end of season honors as voted on by the WCC Coaches. At the top of the list is Kyle Collinsworth as West Coast Conference Player of the Year.

BYU's senior point guard averaged 15.2 points per game, 8.2 rebounds per game, 7.5 assists per game, 2.1 steals per game, and 0.6 blocks per game.

On the women's side, BYU's Lexi Eaton Rydalch was tabbed POY as well. Rydalch led the conference in scoring at 24.6 points per game.

On the men's side, Collinsworth's value to the Cougars is impossible to measure. He makes everything go for the Cougars offensively. The Cougars 83.9 points per game is the 7th highest total in the country and the highest in the WCC. While BYU's high powered offense is reliant on the work of KC, Dave Rose also has called on Collinsworth to defend the best player on the opposing team.

The WCC also released the All-Conference Team. Joining Collinsworth on the 1st team is his teammate in the backcourt Chase Fischer. Nick Emery was named 2nd team All-Conference.

This is the 2nd time a BYU Player has been honored as WCC POY (Tyler Haws, 2013-14). Collinsworth is the 12th player in the school history to be given a conference player of the year accolade. Joining this esteemed list.

  • John Fairchild (64-65)
  • Danny Ainge (80-81)
  • Devin Durrant (82-83)*
  • Timo Saarelainen (84-85)
  • Michael Smith (87-88)
  • Mekeli Wesley (00-01)
  • Rafael Araujo (03-04)*
  • Keena Young (06-07)
  • Lee Cummard (07-08)*
  • Jimmer Fredette (10-11)
  • Tyler Haws (13-14)
  • Kyle Collinsworth (15-16)

*Co-Conference Player of the Year. Durrant shared the honor with San Diego State's Michael Cage and Utah's Pace Mannion, Araujo shared the honor with Air Force's Nick Welch. Cummard split the accolade with New Mexico's J.R. Giddens.

Congratulations to both Kyle Collinsworth and Lexi Eaton Rydalch on receiving the top individual accolade in the WCC! What a season! What a career!

Another congrats to Chase Fischer and Nick Emery for their honor as well.