clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

BYU Football: Jamaal Williams named to 2014 Doak Walker Award Watch List

BYU's Jamaal Williams named to 2014 Doak Walker Award Watch List. Luke Staley was the last BYU player to win the award in 2001.

Jamaal Williams named to Doak Walker Award Watch List
Jamaal Williams named to Doak Walker Award Watch List
Jeff Hanisch-USA TODAY Sports

Jamaal Williams, the junior running back from Brigham Young University has been named to the watch list for the Doak Walker Award.  The Doak Walker Award is given to the best running back in college football.

The Doak Walker Award has been around since 1990 and is named after Doak Walker who played at SMU.

Williams has been a great running back for BYU since he stepped onto the field two years ago.  Last season he has 1,233 yards  and 7 touchdowns.  In 2012, Williams ran for 775 yards and had 12 touchdowns.  He has put on a little weight during the off season and currently comes in at about 208 pounds.

There are 53 total players on the list and BYU fans will get a chance to see quite a few of them up close.  During the 2014 season, BYU will face eight other players on the Doak Walker Award watch list.  Two of those players play for Texas and one each from Boise, Houston, Utah State, Cal, and UCF.

It has been 13 years since BYU running back Luke Staley took home this prestigious award.  In 2001, Staley ran for 1,596 yards and had 24 touchdowns.

Robert Anae recently said that he had already apologized to Harvey Unga because Jamaal was going to break his BYU career rushing record of 3, 455 yards this year.  To break the record this year, Jamaal needs 1,448 yards or jto average just over 100 yards a game.

In 2012, Anae coached Ka'Deem Carey out of the University of Arizona who rushing for 1,929 yards in 2012.  If Anae can get similar blocking out of the BYU offensive line, it's not unrealistic that Jamaal could have an incredible year and not only break the BYU rushing record, but get the attention of the national media and have a chance at the Doak Walker Award as well.

To see the full list of Doak Walker Award nominees, click here.