clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Cougar Kickoff Countdown: 23 Days

23 days left until we find out what the Cougars are made of.

George Frey

Back in the day, when the BYU Cougars were still playing in a conference, they won conference titles more often than not. From the time they first were designated conference champions in 1965 to 2010, the final season in the Mountain West Conference before going independent, the Cougars won 23 conference titles. They also finished in the top-three of the conference 39 times during that 45-year period.

During that time, the best stretch of conference play came from 1976 to 1985, when the Cougars won ten straight titles. Their worst stretch came from 1966 to 1973, when the Cougars had an eight-year conference championship drought.

BYU won all of their conference championships in either the Western Athletic Conference or the Mountain West Conference. Since Tommy Hudspeth won the first conference championship, every other head coach has won at least a single conference championship as well: Hudspeth (1), LaVell Edwards (19), Gary Crowton (1), and Bronco Mendenhall (2).