clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

BYU football adds two more games with Virginia

The Cavaliers add themselves twice more to BYU's future.

Peter Casey-USA TODAY Sports

As BYU prepares to open its 2013 campaign in Charlottesville against the Virginia Cavaliers, the two schools announced on Monday a two-game addition to their previously-announced series.

In addition to games in 2013 and 2014, BYU and Virginia have added games in 2019 and 2020, stretching the series with the ACC B1G B16 football-playing school to a four-game set.

Both of the added contests will take place in September.

Here is the full text of BYU's release:

Brigham Young University and the University of Virginia today announced an additional home-and-home football series for the 2019 and 2020 seasons. The schools previously announced a two-game series for 2013 and 2014.

The specific dates and locations for the four games are:
Aug. 31, 2013, Charlottesville, Va.
Sept. 20, 2014, Provo, Utah
Sept. 7, 2019, Charlottesville, Va.
Sept. 19, 2020, Provo, Utah

BYU and Virginia have previously met three times in football. The first meeting was in 1987 at the All-America Bowl in Birmingham, Ala., where the Cavaliers defeated the Cougars 22-16. The two teams met again in a home-and-home series in 1999 and 2000. Virginia won the first game in Provo 45-40 in 1999. The Cougars won in dramatic fashion the following year at Virginia 38-35 in overtime.

Virginia was founded by Thomas Jefferson in 1819. The Cavaliers began playing football in 1888 and are a member of the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC). Virginia has played in 18 bowl games and has 42 All-Americans.

BYU was founded in 1875 and played its first season of intercollegiate football in 1922. Since Hall of Fame coach LaVell Edwards first took over the program 40 seasons ago, the Cougars rank No. 5 among all FBS programs in total wins with 357 victories and have appeared in 31 bowl games. BYU won the 1984 National Championship and boasts seven College Football Hall of Fame members and 15 winners of major national awards, including the Heisman Trophy, Davey O'Brien Award, Sammy Baugh Trophy, Outland Trophy and Doak Walker Award.